ECP to notify Imran Khan as winning candidate from 7 NA seats he won in October 2022

admin 19 January, 2023
Updated 2023/01/19 at 6:09 AM
3 Min Read
Screenshot 142
Screenshot 142

ECP says PTI chief has submitted all financial details of election expenses to the electoral body

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) Thursday decided to declare Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman prevailing candidate from all seven National Assembly seats.

Announcing the decision — reserved through a five-member bench on December 20, 2022 — the election commission of Pakistan found out that the former top minister had submitted all info of the election expenses that he incurred at some stage in the by way of-elections held in October.

Khan gained most of the people of seats in by using-elections on October sixteen as he contested seven of eight seats and won six. After making records by prevailing six seats in by way of-polls, the PTI chief introduced every other feather to his cap by triumphing from the NA-forty five Kurram constituency later in the identical month.

The electoral frame overlooked the delay in the submission of the info of the expenses and directed officials to notify Khan as the winning candidate.

According to the election laws, “Every lower back candidate shall, within 5 days from the date of the election, put up return of election costs according with the supply of section 29.”

“On receipt of the returns of the election under sub-section (3) of phase 24, the Commission shall post inside the reputable Gazette the names of the back applicants:

Provided that the name of a candidate shall no longer be published who fails to publish the return of election expenses as required by way of sub-phase (three) of section 24.

In October, Khan contested from seven NA constituencies and received the via-polls in Peshawar, Mardan, Charsadda, Faisalabad, Nankana Sahib and one seat in Karachi, after beating the ruling coalition’s candidates.

Imran Khan misplaced one seat to PPP’s Hakeem Baloch in Karachi, and the alternative NA seat changed into lost by way of PTI leader Shah Mehmood Qureshi’s daughter Meharbano Qureshi to PPP’s Musa Gilani, a son of PPP chief Yusuf Raza Gilani, in Multan.

These seats have been vacated when the National Assembly speaker everyday the resignations of 9 PTI MNAs, who had tendered resignations en masse because the birthday celebration coverage.

Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *