Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail recalled for New Zealand ODI series

admin 5 January, 2023
Updated 2023/01/05 at 12:16 PM
3 Min Read
Screenshot 2073
Screenshot 2073

KARACHI: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Thursday named a 16-member squad for the 3-in shape ODI series in opposition to New Zealand, recalling batters Fakhar Zaman and Haris Sohail.

Left-exceeded batter Fakhar Zaman has recovered from his harm at the same time as Haris Sohail has also been recalled for the collection. Haris last played an ODI for Pakistan in October 2020.

Uncapped Tayyab Tahir, who had a first-rate run in domestic tournaments, has earned his maiden name. Usama Mir has also been named in the squad in place of injured Shadab Khan.

“I spoke to Shadab this morning, he wasn’t feeling comfortable because of finger harm, that’s why he is not selected for the collection towards New Zealand,” stated interim chairman of selectors Shahid Afridi.

Afridi stated that the choice committee did consult the team control earlier than announcing the squad for the series.

The 3-match ODI collection can be played in Karachi with suits scheduled at the 9th, eleventh, and 13th of January.

“We asked Babar and Saqlain to give their desire of sixteen before finalising this squad, wherein we felt matters can enhance, we do talk those problems,” Afridi stated.

“It changed into an essential obligation for me, there may be no dearth of skills in Pakistan and it made me experience accurate. I am right here for a restricted time but essential changed into to preserve Pakistan’s future in mind,”

“Our mandate become to announce squads for the New Zealand series most effective but we’ve got made our selections keeping the destiny in our thoughts. We have additionally given significance to performances in domestic cricket,” he delivered.

Shahid Afridi stated that he is not in favour of letting gamers go to leagues whilst the house season is being played. He stated that players launched for Bangladesh Premier League also are advised to return at the least 10 days before the begin of the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

Pakistan’s squad for the ODI collection: Babar Azam (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir and Usama Mir

Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *