PSL 2023: Lahore Qalandars defeat Quetta Gladiators by 63 runs

admin 22 February, 2023
Updated 2023/02/22 at 6:40 AM
5 Min Read
Lahore Qalandars captain Shaheen Afridi celebrates during the 10th match of the eighth edition of the Pakistan Super League in National Bank Cricket Arena Karachi on February 21 2023

Qalandars sail to victory as Gladiators lose successive wickets

Lahore Qalandars triumphed over Quetta Gladiators via 63 runs inside the tenth suit of the eighth version of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) on the National Bank Cricket Arena in Karachi.

Qalandars controlled to cozy victory after Gladiators misplaced Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, and Mohammad Hafeez in quick succession.

Put to bat first, Qalandars posted a big 199-run target before restricting the Gladiators to 135-8 in 20 overs, who could not construct momentum during the run-chase after Jason Roy’s departure.

Managing to score only six runs in 10 balls, Iftikhar mistimed his shot and the landed in the palms of Fakhar Zaman. In the succeeding over, Mohammad Nawaz (2) fell to Sikandar Raza. The left-exceeded batter skied his shot, which ended up in Kamran Ghulam’s palms.

Next to walk off the field was veteran batter Hafeez, who also couldn’t cross the fence as his skying shot was caught by the skipper Shaheen Shah Afridi. The right-handed batter scored 25 runs in 22 balls.

After taking a blinder, Shaheen delivered with the ball, taking Odean Smith’s wicket, who misjudged a slow ball that was caught by Rashid.

In his last over, the skipper struck again and Qais Ahmed was dismissed after scoring merely nine runs.

Martin Guptill and Roy departed in quick succession after the two batters helped the Gladiators overcome an early setback against the Qalandars.

It took Rashid Khan only seven deliveries to strike for the defending champions as he bowled out Roy after the destructive batter scored 48 runs off 30 balls.

Skipper Shaheen Shah Afridi gave the Qalandars an early breakthrough as he sent Abdul Wahid Bangalzai back to the pavilion after trapping him for an lbw.

The young batter, Bangalzai, was out for a golden duck.

Guptill and Roy helped Gladiators overcome the early setback, putting on a partnership of 47 runs for the second wicket.

But Guptill was dismissed by all-rounder David Wiese following scoring 15 runs.

For the defending champions, Shaheen and Wiese claimed three wickets each, while Rashid and Raza took a scalp each.

Earlier, Lahore Qalandars set Quetta Gladiators a mammoth target of 199 runs.

The Qalandars posted a total of 199 runs thanks to a great batting display from, Shai Hope, Tahir Baig, and Sikandar Raza.

After a great start to the innings by the defending champions, Gladiators made a comeback in the later stage of the innings by taking quick wickets against Qalandars.

The Qalandars kept going despite losing two wickets following the departure of their opening batters, Fakhar Zaman and Tahir.

Lahore lost both their openers, Fakhar and Tahir, in quick succession. The duo added 49 runs for the first wicket.

However, the left-handed batter was sent back to the pavilion by Odean Smith after scoring 22 runs off 14 balls. Later, Tahir, who smashed a brilliant, 31 runs off only 15 balls, fell to Mohammad Nawaz.

After the departure of the two openers, Hope and Kamran Ghulam stitched a great 56-run partnership for the third wicket, but Kamran fell to Qais Ahmed after scoring 21 runs.

Hope continued to bat well, but his compatriot, Odean, got the better of him and sent him packing after he gathered 47 runs.

All-rounder Hussain Talat looked good and scored 26 runs, but he couldn’t build on innings and was sent packing by the Afghan spinner, Qais.

Pace ace Mohammad Hasnain struck in the 18th over and bowled out the dangerous batter David Wiese (1) with a peach of a delivery that hit the middle stump.

Raza played a crucial knock toward the end of the innings, scoring 32 runs off just 16 deliveries.

For Quetta, Qais and Odean claimed two wickets each, while Nawaz and Hasnain took a scalp each.  

Playing XIs

Quetta Gladiators: Sarfaraz Ahmed (c), Mohammad Hasnain, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Hafeez, Odean Smith, Iftikhar Ahmed, Martin Guptill, Abdul Wahid Bangalzai, Jason Roy, Qais Ahmed

Lahore Qalandars: Fakhar Zaman, Tahir Baig, Shai Hope, Kamran Ghulam, Hussain Talat, Sikandar Raza, David Wiese, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Afridi (c), Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan

Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *